Members & Organisation

The SFB1258 is a DFG funded research institution to tackle innovative, challenging, complex and long-term research undertakings in the field of Astro- and Particle Physics through the coordinaton and concentration of individuals and resources within the Technical University of Munich and through cooperation with the European Southern Observatory (ESO), the Max Planck Institutes for Physics, Extraterrestrial Physics and Astrophysics as well as the Institute for High Energy Physics, Vienna, and the Atominstitut of the Technical University of Vienna. The funding started on 1 January 2017 and is currently approved until 31 December 2024. The SFB1258 is organised in 18 projects led by 23 principal investigators and employs about 40 postdocs and doctoral researchers.


Principal Investigators

Technical University of Munich (TUM)

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Beneke
  • Dr. Philipp Eller
  • Prof. Dr. Laura Fabbietti
  • Prof. Dr. Björn Garbrecht
  • Dr. Matthias Garny
  • Dr. Julia Harz
  • Prof. Dr. Alejandro Ibarra
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Mertens
  • Prof. Dr. Lothar Oberauer
  • Prof. Dr. Elisa Resconi
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Schönert
  • Dr. Raimund Strauss
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Weiler

European Southern Observatory (ESO)

  • Dr. Paolo Padovani

Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA)

  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Thomas Janka

Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics (MPE)

  • Priv. Doz. Dr. habil. Jochen Greiner

Max Planck Institute for Physics (MPP)

  • Prof. Dr. Allen Caldwell
  • Dr. Uli Haisch
  • Priv. Doz. Dr. habil. Béla Majorovits
  • Dr. Federica Petricca
  • Priv. Doz. Dr. habil. Georg Raffelt

Foreign Principal Investigators

Mercator Fellows

Former PIs

Coordination & Science Communication

  • Petra Riedel

Financial Management

  • Marika Kotanidou

Former members

  • Angela Possanner (until December 2018)
  • Dr. Juraj Klaric (until May 2019), Postdoc at Nikhef Amsterdam
  • Dr. Cesar Bonilla Diaz (until July 2019), Associate Professor at Universidad Católica del Norte, Chile
  • Dr. Kai Krings (until December 2019)
  • Dr. Andreas Rappelt (until December 2019)
  • Dr. Konrad Altenmüller (until December 2019)
  • Dr. Steffen Maurus (until December 2019)
  • Dr. Joana Wirth (until December 2019)
  • Dr. Foteini Oikonomou (until April 2020), Associate Professor at NTNU Trondheim
  • Dr. Erik Parr (until June 2020)
  • Dr. Damien Bégué (until June 2020), Postdoc at Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • Dr. Caspar Hasner (until July 2020), Yoummday
  • Prof. Dr. Saúl Ramos Sánchez, August Wilhelm Scheer Guest Professor (1.08.2019 - 31.07.2020), Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Dr. Tina Pollmann (until August 2020), Professor (tenured) at University of Amsterdam
  • Dr. Johannes Herms (until September 2020), Postoc at MPIK, Germany
  • Dr. Andreas Mütter (until September 2020), Vontobel, Germany
  • Dr. Francesco Capozzi (until October 2020), UnivAQ, Italy
  • Dr. Francesco Berlato (until December 2020), Ionity, Germany
  • Dr. Ninoy Rahman (until December 2020), Posdoc at GSI Darmstadt, Germany
  • Dr. Anna Pollithy (until December 2020)
  • Dr. Stefan Knirck (until December 2020), Postdoc at Fermilab, USA
  • Dr. Andrea Turcati (until February 2021), OmegaLambdaTec GmbH
  • Samuel Boursaud (until March 2021), University of Freiburg 
  • Dr. Matthias Huber (until April 2021)
  • Dr. Julia Sawatzki (until April 2021), Senacor Technologies, Germany
  • Dr. Birgit Neumair (until May 2021)
  • Dr. Maximilian Ruhdorfer (until July 2021), Postdoc at Cornell University, USA
  • Dr. Mateusz Duch (until September 2021)
  • Dr. Tim Brunst (until September 2021), Broadcom Inc., Germany
  • Dr. Luis Manzanillas (until December 2021), Synchrotron Soleil, France
  • Dr. Chang Lee (until December 2021)
  • Dr. Immacolata Carmen Rea (until December 2021), Postoc at NFN Naples, Italy
  • Dr. Felix Henningsen (until March 2022), Postdoc at Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Dr. Stephan Meighen-Berger (until April 2022), Postdoc at University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr. Lisa Schlüter (until July 2022), Postdoc at Berkeley Lab, USA
  • Dr. Javier Serra Marí (until July 2022), Ramon y Cajal Fellow at IFT Madrid, Spain
  • Dr. Christian Karl (until September 2022)
  • Dr. Gaurav Tomar (until September 2022), Assistant Professor at IIT Patna, India
  • Dr. Stefan Stelzl (until September 2022), Postdoc at EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Dr. Petter Taule (until September 2022), Postdoc at IPhT Saclay, France
  • Dr. Kai Urban (until September 2022), AssetMetrix, Germany
  • Dr. Iuliana Stanciu (until December 2022), IFIN-HH, Romania
  • Dr. Theo Glauch (until Feb 2023), Wissenschaftl. Mitarbeiter, DLR, Germany
  • Dr. Lisa Schumacher (until April 2023), Akadem. Rat a. Z. FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Dr. Christian Haack (until April 2023), Akadem. Rat a. Z. FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Dr. Gonzalo Herrera Moreno (until Sep 2023), Postdoc at Virginia Tech, USA
  • Dr. Luca Pattavina (until Nov 2023), Professor (tenured), U Milano-Bicocca